Nahili Samurai

Books I wanna read | June 22, 2008

Books I wanna read

Seth Godin wants a book that will change him. I want to read a book that wasn’t written for money. I want a clear extract with no chemical additives, I want a book that doesn’t prolong the plot just to make the volume thicker, I want the message itself, without the background of author’s aspirations. I want a book written by someone better than me, someone stronger than me…

I want to read a book that became a bestseller, because poor folk like me could sense truth in it, because it told something true and worthy, not another hoax or destructive bohemian pushed by media. I want adventures of Tomas Sawyer and horrors of Edgar Allan Poe, I want no naked people, no super-well-dressed people who create upper middle class problems for themselves. I just want to read a good book. Something new and fresh, not something current or pretentious; just a genius book like The Good Soldier Švejk from Jaroslav Hašek or Adventures of Huckleberry Finn from Mark Twain.

The last good book I read was Harry Potter from J.K.Rowling. I read maybe a dozen of books after that (don’t judge me, I have a full-time job and two bandito kids), in every one of them I could sense MONEY. Ironically, when authors forget money while writing, people like their books and buy’em. On contrary, “money books” are never classical or overwhelming, just some entertainment for boring business trips and food for trashcans.

P.S. Situation changed yesterday, now reading “Demons” from Dostoyevsky; absolutely fantastic.

2 Comments »

  1. Dear author,
    again can’t helping aplauding your weblog! As for the books, I’d like to recommend you a book I am reading now. It’s called “Long way gone” by Ishmael Beah, a former child soldier who spent his childhood in Sierra Leone forced to fight and kill. I am in the beginning of the story, but I already sense how great the book is. Ishmael Beah is not still too young and it must be his first book. The story is written in a simple language (maybe, not like Dostoyevskiy) but still, it’s a great book. I highly recommend it to you and if you’d like I can lend it to you when I come to Ashgabat.

    Comment by Gulyalek — July 9, 2008 @ 7:54 pm

  2. Dear Gulyalek,

    Thank you for the warm words. I’ve absolutely no doubts that Turkmen nation has many young intellectuals like you, so the future is not very bleak. Eventually, it’s the smart people like you who hold everything together.

    I will definitely search more info on Ishmael Beah.

    Comment by nahili — July 11, 2008 @ 12:18 am


Leave a Reply

