Nahili Samurai

The Expectations | April 16, 2008

The Expectations

My weak scattered brain is expecting “A Scatterbrain’s Guide to Motivation” to become a book, to sell millions and to bring me fame. Excuse me my brain, but I can’t let that happen. Such expectations will immediately make me write covered in “for money” attitude. I will stop enjoying the process of blogging and constantly keep planning for the outcome – “money, fame, book”. The blog will become boring, the readers will flee…

I proclaim my refusal to expect anything at all. I shall do everything I do just for the joy of doing it. Whether it’s walking, riding, sleeping, working or playing. This way I will be much more flexible towards any future, and escape the diabolic circle of “plan for future” or “get motivated by money”.

The most dreadful thing about expectations is endless planning and scenario building in the mind. Don’t even tell me about good points of dreaming and trying to achieve those dreams. I’m talking about having super big Archi-Dreams and no expectations of reward.

2 Comments »

  1. “I shall do everything I do just for the joy of doing it.”

    I might got you wrong, but personally I have something in between. I would say it this way “I shall do everything I do just for STH that brings me or will bring me joy.” And you know what that STH is.

    But I guess your main point here, was that you are doing it not for money and fame.

    Comment by Jonathan — April 17, 2008 @ 8:46 am

  2. I do most of the stuff that i do for one reason; the feeling of accomplishment. When i finish something i started (no matter the result) i get a feeling of having done something, and that makes me happy …..

    Comment by Eziz Turkmen — April 20, 2008 @ 4:51 am


Leave a Reply

