Nahili Samurai

Average is not for me – Zen Buddhism | November 24, 2007

Average is not for me - Zen Buddhism

“A teenage boy is humbly seeking enlightenment. Willing to pay extra attention to any religion, idea, path, method, movement that promises a clear answer to one simple question: Why am I here?”

Disillusioned by the philosophies of the West, now I turned for an answer to East. With my weak body and weak soul… That’s how I fell in love with martial arts. Three times a week I would get on a bus and go all the way to “Lokomotiv” sports base near the Ashgabat train station, to learn something called Hanmudo. Basically, a friend recommended this Korean art to me, they didn’t charge much and didn’t hit you on the head – perfect!

I never used my skills to fight, not even once; too concerned about breaking someone’s limb, and not being able to fix it. So, I focused on defense and Zen instead. Our trainer was trying to share some Zen knowledge with us, for example once he gave a speech on “If it’s worth doing, it’s worth doing well”. I was fascinated, I bought as much books as I could afford at the time (1998 -1999). Yes, there are some signs of answer to “Why?” in Buddhism, yet I didn’t find a clear, solid answer. A set of moral values and cycles of “good life = good reincarnation”. And?.. What happens after enlightenment?

Still, I believe East is still a teacher while West is forever a mere student. To understand East better I had to enjoy lots of books & movies. Best things; Shōgun by James Clavell, and the rest of his Asian Saga, Rurouni Kenshin, Peacemaker Kurogane, Fruits Basket, Adventures of Erast Fandorin by Boris Akunin and many others. I never read serious books on Zen Buddhism, people like me have to see the big picture first, and only then discover the details. I never saw the big picture of Zen…

2 Comments »

  1. yeah. BIG picture! that’s what matters.
    partial fact is mostly worse than just zero.
    we r often trapped in chasing after candles, unaware of the sun…

    Comment by hanhanan — November 25, 2007 @ 7:32 pm

  2. The world is chasing “methods for success”, while it’s the truth that matters. Once the truth is acquired, methods will come naturally…

    Comment by nahili — November 26, 2007 @ 1:52 am


Leave a Reply

