Nahili Samurai

People online & offline | October 20, 2007

People online & offline

Once I did an assignment on cyber-space identity, and found that online behaviour and perception is a world with different rules. Besides allowing stupid & rude people to hide behind nicknames, it also distorts how we see people. I get these strange phone calls from people all the time, example: they ask for some girl, and when I tell them “Hey it’s actually my number”, they never believe… It’s because they can’t see my face, if they saw, they would understand that I’m not a girl 🙂

Online – it’s easy to get over-excited or disillusioned about a person, based on little information given… One can’t see another person’s body language, dressing style, facial expressions. In short – it’s just not natural, and everyone misses the point. It’s basically impossible to substitute real talk with online one. Even video conferences can’t transfer smells 😀

So, while reading my blog please don’t assume anything. I might be quite different in real life.

Posted in Innovative News

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

